Changes to Legislation Will Redraw Electoral Boundaries


Legislation to redraw the province’s electoral map was introduced today, Oct. 9.

Attorney General and Justice Minister Mark Furey tabled changes to the House of Assembly Act, which include reinstating the constituencies of Argyle, Clare, Richmond and Preston.

“The boundary changes introduced today reflect the work of the independent 2018-19 Electoral Boundaries Commission,” said Mr. Furey.

The changes also include a move to digital boundaries. Access to new interactive digital riding maps will make it easier and more convenient for Nova Scotians to find information related to electoral ridings.


The commission consulted widely across the province to fulfill our terms of reference which was to strike a balance between voter parity and ensuring effective representation for all Nova Scotians. Colin Dodds, chair of the 2018-19 Electoral Boundaries Commission

Like us on Facebook