New Troop 17 Scholarship winners


The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 Troop 17 Scholarship

The scholarship was created to recognize students who have made significant contributions to the prevention of bullying and harassment in their schools or communities.

Applications were received from students across Canada and judged on creativity, clarity and the overall impact of their efforts in the community. The five recipients for 2019 are as follows:

  • Chelsea Atkinson: Springhill, Nova Scotia
  • Alexis Gosselin: Kamloops, British Columbia
  • Sarah Harrison: Calgary, Alberta
  • Cameron MacDonald: Truro, Nova Scotia
  • Arry Pangher: Surrey, British Columbia

Recipients are each awarded $1,000 while they work towards their post-secondary education.

The RCMP is proud to support the education of students who have made a real difference in their schools and communities by having the courage to stand up to bullying and harassment. I congratulate this year's recipients on their accomplishments, and thank them for helping support a culture of inclusion and respect across Canada.

Brenda Lucki, Commissioner

Quick facts

  • Eligibility for the Troop 17 Scholarship is open to any student enrolled full-time at an accredited college or university in Canada who has made significant efforts toward preventing bullying and harassment in their schools or communities
  • The scholarship was created as part of the Merlo-Davidson settlement agreement in an effort to help support the elimination of harassment from schools, communities, and workplaces
  • The RCMP will award up to five $1000 scholarships annually
  • The application period for next year's scholarship will open in January 2020

Like us on Facebook